Concealment and Open Ground (Newbie)

ATStatham

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
Country
llUnited States
This question refers to A12 (Concealment), A10.531, and B10.31

It is the German APh, I advance a concealed 467 into an open ground hill hex.

All enemy Good Order units with an LOS would have to apply a +1 TEM to their hypothetical Fire Fire attack for height advantage. (ie... their LOS does not intersect the hexside crossed in the advance)

I say the 467 keeps concealment.

What say you?

Thanks

Alan
 
Last edited:

sgtono

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
911
Reaction score
2
Location
Portland, OR
Country
llUnited States
The Concealment Chart A12.121

Note B for infantry not in concealment terrain, I believe says you would lose concealment.

Ketih
 

Chas Argent

Play to the end.
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
6,274
Reaction score
581
Location
Catonsville, MD
Country
llUnited States
ATStatham said:
I say the 467 keeps concealment.

What say you?
You are correct; because Height Advantage would negate FFMO, the unit may retain concealment since it is not in "open ground" relative to the enemy unit.
 

sgtono

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
911
Reaction score
2
Location
Portland, OR
Country
llUnited States
Chas Argent said:
You are correct; because Height Advantage would negate FFMO, the unit may retain concealment since it is not in "open ground" relative to the enemy unit.
Wow, I will have to remember this lesson. So anytime a TEM applies to non-concealment terrain, you can retain concealment?

Keith
 

Reepicheep

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Messages
3,246
Reaction score
22
Location
Toowoomba, QLD
Country
llAustralia
sgtono said:
So anytime a TEM applies to non-concealment terrain, you can retain concealment?
For advancing and non-assault movement, yes. It's a very useful thing to remember! :D
 

Chas Argent

Play to the end.
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
6,274
Reaction score
581
Location
Catonsville, MD
Country
llUnited States
sgtono said:
Wow, I will have to remember this lesson. So anytime a TEM applies to non-concealment terrain, you can retain concealment?

Keith
Or a Hindrance too, Keith. If, for example, I have a Concealed unit Assault moving or Advancing at the same level as one of your units but there's a Hindrance in between them then they also can retain "?". Basically anything that would negate FFMO allows retention of "?".
 

Ole Boe

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
2,874
Reaction score
10
Location
there...
Country
llNorway
It is correct that the concealment is not lost.

The relevant rules are:

A12.14:
A concealed unit's "?" is also lost immediately if it ...
  • uses Non-Assault Movement ...
  • moves/advances/withdraws into an Open Ground hex (as defined in 10.531),


A10.531:
For purposes of ... concealment gain/loss ... an Open Ground hex is any hex in which any Interdictor could apply, during a hypothetical Defensive First Fire opportunity ... the -1 FFMO DRM.
 
Top