Commissar and a broken 6-2-8

sfcmikej

US Army Retired
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
803
Reaction score
138
Location
North Carolina
Country
llUnited States
Hey All

A broken NKVD 6-2-8 with an underlined morale is rallied by a commissar and rolls a 12. What happens? Mostly I am looking for a rules reference that clarifies the order of events. The two possibilities seem to be:

Scenario 1: He CRs due to the 12 (A10.64 Fate) then he is reduced in quality for failing the MC while being rallied by a commissar (A25.222 and A19.13). Not being able to reduce in quality the HS is eliminated.

Scenario 2: He is reduced in quality to 2 half squads and then is CR'd and looses one of the half squads, leaving an broken half squad.

Which one is correct?

Mike
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
806
Reaction score
225
Location
ABQ, NM, USA
Country
llUnited States
Per A10.31, Replacement occurs first, but not sure if the 12 then applies to one HS or both?

Edit: Duh, thanks, Mike!
 
Last edited:

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
309
Location
Michigan
Country
llUnited States
No inside info here, but I think your "Scenario 1" would be correct. A19.13 isn't directly invoked since this is a rally, not a MC. Thereafter, A10.64 is pretty straightforward:

10.64 FATE: A broken unit which rolls an Original 12 DR while attempting to rally suffers Casualty Reduction and does not rally.​
So the squad CRs to a HS which doesn't rally. A25.222 explains what happens to units that don't rally for their Commissar:

Any MMC which fails to rally under the direction of a Commissar is Replaced by the next lower quality unit of its size.... A broken crew, SMC, or HS that cannot be Replaced is eliminated.​
 
Last edited:
Top