combination terrain?

Discussion in 'ASL Rules & Errata' started by Michael R, Nov 14, 2017 at 9:38 PM.

Tags:
  1. Michael R

    Michael R Active Member Silver Supporting Member

    Feb 4, 2003
    Montreal, Canada
    In the attached photo, is hex G2 combination bamboo-woods terrain for the purpose of moving from F1 to G2? Is the MF cost two as for woods, or minimum move as for bamboo?

    Thanks.

    Combo question.jpg
     
    mkolenski likes this.
  2. von Marwitz

    von Marwitz Well-Known Member

    Nov 25, 2010
    Kraut Corner
    I *think* it is a Jungle-hex, so Jungle entry cost (only). However bypass would be impossible due to the Bamboo.

    You could argue that in this particular case of G2, the Jungle portion does not "dominate" the hex, i.e. that the Bamboo portion is more than marginal. In that case, the terrain effects of Bamboo and Woods would be cumulative, which would mean the hex would only be enterable by Minimum Move in the MPh from F1.

    "B.1 SYMBOLOGY: For aesthetic purposes, terrain symbology may extend marginally out of a hex into an adjacent hex of another type, but most hexes are dominated by one specific terrain type and are governed by the rules for that specific terrain type. Usually, the dominant terrain type includes the hex center dot, but occasionally building hexes have a hex center dot in Open Ground; an Open Ground hex center dot never changes a hex containing a building to an Open Ground hex. In some cases a hex will contain more than one terrain type with neither dominant over the other, in which case the terrain effect of both types are cumulative."

    von Marwitz
     
  3. Brian W

    Brian W Well-Known Member

    Jan 29, 2003
    USA
    I agree. It isn't 80% jungle, but it is more than 50% jungle.
     
  4. James Taylor

    James Taylor I love women with brains

    Jun 28, 2005
    Michigan
    Concur as well.

    Re-read B.1---- "common sense must prevail" :eek:

    JT
     
    Swiftandsure likes this.

Share This Page