CC recapture of abandoned Tank

Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
512
Likes
17
Points
18
Location
Malmö
Country
llSweden
#1
What prohibits a crew that failed its immob TC to recapture the abandoned AFV in the CC phase, in the same turn the AFV was evacuated ? No enemy in same loc as abandoned AFV

I have a vague feeling something stops them but cant find what..
 

jrv

Vare, legiones redde!
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
18,971
Likes
3,655
Points
163
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
#2
CC can only happen when there are friendly and enemy in the same Location (with amendment for pillboxes) [A11.1]. If the vehicle were enemy it could be captured automatically at the end of the CCPh [A21.2]. Since it is not enemy it may not be captured.

JR
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
512
Likes
17
Points
18
Location
Malmö
Country
llSweden
#3
But A21.2 makes no distinction of enemy Abandoned or friendly abandoned, It merely states abandoned.

Nothing in that rule stops auto capture?
 

jrv

Vare, legiones redde!
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
18,971
Likes
3,655
Points
163
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
#5
This is the q&a:

q&a said:
A21.2 & D5.42 1). Friendly Infantry in the same Location as an Abanoned enemy vehicle are not in a CC Location if no other enemy units are present (because an Abandoned vehicle is not a
Unit because it is incapable of movement (Index)). So said Friendly Infantry may not Capture the AFV using A21.2 mechanics because said Infantry is not in a CC Location. Yes?
A. No. Read the sentence right before that. An Abandoned enemy AFV may be automatically captured at the end of the CCPh, regardless of being in a “CC Location” or not.
2). May a Friendly AFV be Crewed this way?
A. No, unless actually in CC.
The rule is pretty clear: if there are no enemy Personnel, an *enemy* vehicle can be captured automatically. If it is a CC Location then it can be captured by making a CC capture attempt.

JR
 
Top