Can you rout underneath an adjacent enemy unit if leaving its LOS?

cohort

Recruit
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Location
Virginia
Country
llUnited States
May the broken Japanese unit in KK10 rout to the ground level of KK11, underneath the American stack at level 1 with no stairwell in KK11?

One player says no, because the router is moving closed to a KEU.

The other says yes. A10.51 reads "A routing unit may never rout toward a Known armed enemy unit ..., while in that enemy unit's LOS, in any way which decreases the range in hexes between the routing unit and the Known armed enemy unit; nor may it move toward such an enemy unit after leaving its LOS during that RtPh..." The router is not decreasing the range between the units. The range is 1 at the start of the move and afterwards there is no range because the LOS is blocked. (This treats the term "range" in A10.51 like a line of fire and not distance.) Also, the routing unit is not moving toward the enemy after leaving it LOS because it doesn't leave its LOS until it enters KK11.



12500
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,698
Reaction score
749
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
No. As you cited, a router cannot move closer to an enemy unit, even if it ends up moving out of that enemy's LOS. Range is calculated in hexes, not "in Locations." So even though they would not be sharing the same Location, routing into KK11 would put the units at 0 hex distance. "Eventual LOS" is irrelevant.

The same would be true if the router started 5 hexes away from the enemy, but wanted to rout into a Location 4 hexes away, but out of that enemy's LOS.

P.S. How are you guys enjoying Corregidor?👍
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,398
Reaction score
1,954
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
No. As you cited, a router cannot move closer to an enemy unit, even if it ends up moving out of that enemy's LOS. Range is calculated in hexes, not "in Locations." So even though they would not be sharing the same Location, routing into KK11 would put the units at 0 hex distance. "Eventual LOS" is irrelevant.

The same would be true if the router started 5 hexes away from the enemy, but wanted to rout into a Location 4 hexes away, but out of that enemy's LOS.

P.S. How are you guys enjoying Corregidor?👍
Rule reference is of course A1.22 (See index) for determining what the definition of "range" is.
 
Top