Can bazooka be fired at a "Gun"?

Discussion in 'ASL Starter Kits' started by john pump ward, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. john pump ward

    john pump ward Member

    74
    Sep 26, 2014
    nj
    Hi All
    Question:
    Can a bazooka be fired at a gun. I only see infantry and vehicular targets. If an Artillery weapon is in the open, manned by a crew... can it be fired upon by the bazooka?

    Thanks
    jpj
     
  2. clubby

    clubby Active Member

    Dec 27, 2015
    CA
    In regular ASL, a BAZ may be fired at a Vehicle or Gun or at Infantry/Calvary receiving wall/building/rubble/pillbox TEM. Never played SK but I'm thinking it's probably similar.
     
  3. jrv

    jrv Vare, legiones redde!

    May 25, 2005
    Teutoburger Wald
    PF, BAZ, PIAT and PSK actually fire HEAT ammunition (4.4 ASLSK.EP1). The BAZ section (4.4.1) only mentions Infantry in building and vehicles, but per the Special Ammo and Depletion Numbers rules (6.2) HEAT may be used "against Infantry in buildings or against Guns and vehicles." The attack against a Gun is resolved like an HE attack using the same eight FP column on the IFT as against infantry in a building. It looks as though the BAZ rules overlook the third possibility, but I believe the omission is an oversight not an indication that the BAZ may not make the attack.

    JR
     
  4. john pump ward

    john pump ward Member

    74
    Sep 26, 2014
    nj
    Thanks! appreciate the help
     
  5. Jeffrey D Myers

    Jeffrey D Myers Active Member Silver Supporting Member

    647
    Aug 12, 2011
    ABQ, NM, USA
    In "Silence that Gun" (ASL 2), the SSRs have been amended in the latest Yanks to include: "The 7.5cm PaK 97/38 can't be eliminated by a BAZ CH", lending credence to JR's interpretation....
     
  6. clubby

    clubby Active Member

    Dec 27, 2015
    CA
    Don't the BAZ rules in ASL also indirectly point you in that direction too? As far as I can tell there's no rule specifically in C13 that tells you a BAZ can attack a Gun except for the very last rule 13.9 which points you to 8.31 where it is mentioned.
     
  7. jrv

    jrv Vare, legiones redde!

    May 25, 2005
    Teutoburger Wald
    That is ASL. The question is about ASLSK.

    JR
     
  8. Jeffrey D Myers

    Jeffrey D Myers Active Member Silver Supporting Member

    647
    Aug 12, 2011
    ABQ, NM, USA
    My specialization is answering questions that no one is asking! I'm training to be a politician.
     
    Eagle4ty likes this.
  9. jrv

    jrv Vare, legiones redde!

    May 25, 2005
    Teutoburger Wald
    The BAZ rules *in ASL* say they attack unarmored targets "on the 8 column of the IFT" [C13.43]. In contrast the BAZ rules *in ASLSK* say that a "BAZ attacks on the 8 column of the IFT if it obtains a hit against Infantry in a building." It does not mention attacks against guns; it would be easy to conclude that attacks against guns are not allowed if one did not connect the various rules. You may want to get out your copy of the ASLSK rules and compare them with the ASL rules to see how it is easier to miss the connection in ASLSK.

    JR
     
  10. jrv

    jrv Vare, legiones redde!

    May 25, 2005
    Teutoburger Wald
    There is a second rule which I missed when I read the rules earlier. In 4.4 BAZ are called Shaped Charge Weapons (SCW), and further on it says, "SCW may also be fired at Guns."

    JR
     
    Jeffrey D Myers likes this.
  11. Jeffrey D Myers

    Jeffrey D Myers Active Member Silver Supporting Member

    647
    Aug 12, 2011
    ABQ, NM, USA
    That Ken Dunn thinks of everything....
     
  12. TheSQLGuru

    TheSQLGuru Member

    96
    Oct 28, 2004
    Decatur, AL
    And don't forget the ASLSK wording about IFT effects prior to gun shield application if the result is a KIA/K (Direct Hit).
     
  13. bendizoid

    bendizoid Official ***** Dickweed

    Sep 11, 2006
    Viet Nam
    Yeah,ever take out a 20mm quad with a ATR? I got Matt Book's Like that once.
     
  14. von Marwitz

    von Marwitz Well-Known Member

    Nov 25, 2010
    Kraut Corner
    I believe you cannot do it with a normal ATR but only with a 20mm ATR.

    "C13.24 vs PERSONNEL: An ATR can be used against Personnel targets with one FP as Small Arms Fire (no To Hit DR is necessary and therefore it may be used as part of a FG but it has no Long Range capability; i.e., it may not be fired beyond 12 hexes). An ATR leaves no Residual FP even if it attacks as part of a FG. Only 20L (i.e., 20mm) ATR may use the Infantry Target Type and AP HE equivalency."


    To target the Gun, the normal ATR would need to use ITT, which is prohibited. With an ATR attacking as Small Arms, you would get a 1MC at best, which can't destroy the Gun.
    With a 20mm ATR, you have a HE Equivalency of 2FP, with which you could score a Direct Hit. A DR of 2 would result in a K/1 which is enough for AP to destroy the Gun and its Crew as per C11.52.

    "C11.52 AP: AP/APCR/APDS/ATR hits vs a Gun are resolved using the same mechanics as HE hits, but using HE Equivalency (8.31). The Gun and any manning Infantry are destroyed by a CH/any K/KIA result. A MG attacking alone, an ATR attacking as Small Arms, or an ATR/MG attacking as part of a FG, may cause Gun Destruction only as per A9.74."

    So conceivably Matt's 20mm FlaK-Vierling should still be alive and kicking...

    Edit:
    Just noticing, that this is the SK-corner. What I said above is true for ASL. Dunno about SK.

    von Marwitz
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017 at 8:45 AM

Share This Page