Bypass fire options for AFV

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,651
Reaction score
2,131
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
ALL I was after is when the AFV is stopped such that an enemy attack against it gets no detrimental DRM.


In ASL "Stopped" is a specific term. To answer your question, assuming the AFV moves in the MPh and ends its MPh Stopped (i.e., it expended a MP to Stop, or if it Bogged):
  • In the AFPh its MA To Hit DR would suffer at least Case C because it has entered a new hex/hexside in the MPh, and it's MG/IFE attacks would be halved for firing in the AFPh. The earliest it would not suffer those penalties of the DFPh in the next player turn.
  • In the MPh that the AFV moved, and in the DFPh, any Ordnance To Hit DR on that AFV would suffer at least Case J because the AFV is a Moving Vehicular Target. The earliest that DR would not apply is in the PFPh of the next player turn.
Please read the posts above and understand that we are trying to explain that "Stopped" means a very specific thing in ASL. It doesn't mean "no DRMs and no penalties". When you write "stopped" we read it as the ASL term and answer as such. If you are using "stopped" to mean something different, I'm sorry, but our answers will be confusing.

I presume in its DFPH of the (next) enemy turn it is stopped (not in motion) and at no other time.
No, a vehicle is Stopped when it expends a MP to Stop (or Bogs), which would be in its MPh. Nothing else matters. (A vehicle that is set up on board is also Stopped at the start of play.)

The only question that remains is if the AFV bogs, which although the rules say it is stopped other rules say - because it moved- is still not really stopped.
No, it is really Stopped. It is also a Moving Vehicular Target (Case J).

Please see C.8. Please read the rules and try to understand these terms:
Stopped
Non-Stopped
Motion
Moving Vehicular Target

They may not match what you think they mean.
 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,651
Reaction score
2,131
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
What might be confusing too is that I'm not giving you an answer that applies to one specific situation. I'm trying to explain in general so you will be able to answer similar questions, and use the explanation in play. I think that if you play assuming X will happen, but the rules say Y, you will be disappointed and confused when your opponents use Y and you don't get the results you thought would happen.
 

semenza

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
964
Reaction score
440
Location
Poplar Ridge , NY
Country
llUnited States
Complete nonsense. "It is Stopped when it spends a Stop point. Immediately."

I love to hear about that.... I think we are talking about different things...

So a tank changes hex ( lets say 4) and stops ( temp end its movement) and targets (enemy) with no movement DRM...

That's what you said? Right.
No. Everyone else has already explained what I said.

I will not add anything other than to reiterate understanding the specific terms will make it so much easier to understand, to ask questions, and to get accurate non-confusing answers.

Seth
 
Top