BTB 4-Firestorm terrain help needed.......

Trezza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
2,141
Reaction score
132
Location
Long Island, NY
Country
llUnited States
Setting up a defense for this one. Do the SSR shellholes negate the orchards in the hex? Or does it become a combination hex of orchards and shellholes?
 

samtyson

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
613
Reaction score
313
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Looking at the compiled errata for all of the Normandy stuff so far, I found a similar situation answered for different scenarios, so it seems that shellholes would eliminate orchards as well.


Q and A

Does the shellhole creation in scenarios BFP 17 and 18 eliminate woods?
Yes.
 

Chas

Elder Member
Joined
May 2, 2004
Messages
2,465
Reaction score
1,715
Country
llUnited States
Nothing handy. What does the ASLRB say on this?
 

WaterRabbit

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
2,566
Reaction score
27
Location
Somewhere
Country
llGreenland
Nothing helpful.

From B2.1

Shellholes can be created to a maximum of one per hex during play by placing a shellhole counter in Open Ground, orchard, brush, or grainfield immediately after any Original KIA result during a PFPh/DFPh resolution of a Concentrated HE FFE (or aerial bomb/rocket) attack of ≥ 150mm. Such placement removes all entrenchment counters in that hex (although not necessarily their contents) even if the hex was already a shellhole hex. Shellholes occur only IN a Depression—not at its Crest level.
 

dlazov

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
7,991
Reaction score
1,377
Location
Toledo, Ohio
First name
Don
Country
llUnited States
Well per normal rules shellholes only remove entrenchments, so the hex is an orchard hex with a shellhole in it.
 

Whizbang1963

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
2,582
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
The combination of shellholes and orchard can exist in the same hex.

The orchard can also burn:



Further on Orchards:

14.5 An orchard may be kindled on a DR ≥ 11 and Fire will spread to it from an adjacent Blaze on a DR ≥ 9 (both subject to modification; see Section 25).


But nothing is mentioned about them being able to be rubbled or cleared.

If this was a CG then:
CG7 TERRAIN CHANGES: During the course of the same CG, alterations of printed mapsheet terrain are bound to occur, all of which become "permanent" (barring subsequent Clearance/Removal or Deactivation [11.6123] if applicable). All counters for Fortifications, Rubble, Breaches, Trailbreaks, Shellholes and wrecks are left on-map from scenario to scenario. Any terrain Ablaze at scenario end is resolved as per RePh 11.609. A wreck in a terrain Blaze is not removed from play; instead, it remains on-map (still treated as a LOS Hindrance) and in step 11.6091 of the next RePh will become a Burnt-Out-Wreck. 14 A Burnt-Out-Wreck may neither catch Fire nor be Scrounged, nor may it be removed from play as per D10.4. A Burnt-Out-Wreck is a LOS Hindrance in the same manner as a normal wreck.

and

11.6092 BRUSH, ORCHARD, WOODEN RUBBLE: Place a Shellhole counter in the Location; the other previous terrain no longer exists.


would apply. But this is not the case here.
 
Top