Bridges

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,024
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Anyone ever destroy a bridge with a unit on it? How about a friendly unit? How about a friendly unit on it that is the unit that destroys the bridge?

Bucket list items for sure.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,024
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Follow up--I've always assumed a bridge hex is destroyed, but the rules say the bridge is destroyed with no reference to hex. Does that mean if the first hex of a four hex long bridge is hit and destoyed, all four hexes' bridges are destoryed?
 

von Marwitz

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
14,342
Reaction score
10,155
Location
Kraut Corner
Country
llUkraine
Anyone ever destroy a bridge with a unit on it? How about a friendly unit? How about a friendly unit on it that is the unit that destroys the bridge?

Bucket list items for sure.
I once used a tank in an attempt to collapse a wooden bridge, which did actually work out.

Similarly, I once took chances to cross a frozen river with a ht avoiding the only bridge. That was risky buisness but I was lucky and caught the opponent offguard.

von Marwitz
 

von Marwitz

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
14,342
Reaction score
10,155
Location
Kraut Corner
Country
llUkraine
Follow up--I've always assumed a bridge hex is destroyed, but the rules say the bridge is destroyed with no reference to hex. Does that mean if the first hex of a four hex long bridge is hit and destoyed, all four hexes' bridges are destoryed?
I think if you try to blow up a bridge, there's a rule to figure out how many 'spans" (i.e. bridge locations of that bridge) are affected. Didn't doublecheck, though.

von Marwitz
 

j23flo

Recruit
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Location
Tulsa
Country
llUnited States
Not sure I played it correctly but I had a bridge destroyed when an ammo truck was struck and detonated sending the printed Bridge into the stream below.
 

kcole4001

Stray Cat
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
1,578
Reaction score
454
Location
NorthEast
First name
Kevin
Country
llCanada
I think if you try to blow up a bridge, there's a rule to figure out how many 'spans" (i.e. bridge locations of that bridge) are affected. Didn't doublecheck, though.

von Marwitz
There is, though it's been a long time since I have seen that particular rule.
 

witchbottles

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
9,100
Reaction score
2,254
Location
Rio Vista, CA
Country
llUnited States
Not a bridge, but I did manage to blow up a pier with a 10-3 and 7-6-8 on it with a mistaken attack from a FB with a 150 lb bomb that scored a critical hit.

Made my Japanese very happy that day on Betio.
 
Top