Bounding Fire Same Tank, Separate MG Fire, Same Target

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,495
Reaction score
555
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Rule C5.3 says: "A vehicle with a Multiple ROF may not fire again until it has expended another MP (even if only a Delay MP)."

However, the (non-MA) MG can't get ROF.

So I honestly don't see where the confusion is.
There remains a glimmer of doubt in the case of one MG firing (say, a BMG); followed by an in-hex MP expenditure (to delay or to change TCA, for example); followed by an attempt to fire a different MG (like the CMG or AAMG).

Is this legal (because the tank hasn't yet left the hex AND the shot is not simultaneous with the original MG shot)? Or illegal because the MGs are required to FireGroup? This is the ambiguous case.
 

commissar1969

Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
319
Reaction score
12
Location
Martin, TN
Country
llUnited States
There remains a glimmer of doubt in the case of one MG firing (say, a BMG); followed by an in-hex MP expenditure (to delay or to change TCA, for example); followed by an attempt to fire a different MG (like the CMG or AAMG).

Is this legal (because the tank hasn't yet left the hex AND the shot is not simultaneous with the original MG shot)? Or illegal because the MGs are required to FireGroup? This is the ambiguous case.
Well, when you look at the rule, it says it's ROF dependent. But MG don't get ROF.
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,495
Reaction score
555
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Well, when you look at the rule, it says it's ROF dependent. But MG don't get ROF.
The rule you are citing is specifically discussing "Vehicular ordnance." To bring it to bear on this problem lies somewhere between questionable and a red herring.
 

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
16,012
Reaction score
1,829
Location
Aberdeen , Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Well, when you look at the rule, it says it's ROF dependent. But MG don't get ROF.
It is clear that not all weapons need be fired on the same movement point.
Take a t34 which moves with it's turret reversed and stops facing a squad. On that MP it fires it's main gun backwards knocking out the enemy tank. Can it fire it's BMG forwards? Yes.
If it does do, can it then spend a delay MP and fire it's CMG at the same target?
 
Top