Bitterest Day Errata

Hubbs5

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
677
Reaction score
49
Location
Greeley, CO
Country
llUnited States
In BD campaign rule 2.51421 it talks about retaining DC/FT that were removed from play. Mid paragraph it says "However, the Marine player may never Retain in this manner more friendly DC than it has non-Isolated Marine squads at this point in the RePh, nor may the Marine side retain more FT than it has non-Isolated Marine Assault squads (BD5) at this point in the RePh."

1. Do the DC's that were not removed count against this total?

2. Does this include all of the FT's in the Marine OB or just the ones that were removed?
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,769
Reaction score
1,662
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
In BD campaign rule 2.51421 it talks about retaining DC/FT that were removed from play. Mid paragraph it says "However, the Marine player may never Retain in this manner more friendly DC than it has non-Isolated Marine squads at this point in the RePh, nor may the Marine side retain more FT than it has non-Isolated Marine Assault squads (BD5) at this point in the RePh."

1. Do the DC's that were not removed count against this total?

2. Does this include all of the FT's in the Marine OB or just the ones that were removed?
  1. I presume you are referring to any DCs held by isolated units. In this case, no, those DCs held by isolated units do not count against the total noted.
  2. Same criteria for FTs as well.
 

Hubbs5

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
677
Reaction score
49
Location
Greeley, CO
Country
llUnited States
When aircraft are doing a sighting TC against an empty cave do they get to add the -2 for Target is not entirely concealed/HIP?
 

ibncalb

Elder Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
1,254
Reaction score
1,004
Location
La Turballe
Country
llFrance
When aircraft are doing a sighting TC against an empty cave do they get to add the -2 for Target is not entirely concealed/HIP?
I seem to remember that a STC can only be attempted against a unit, so not an empty hex.

It might be better to add these non errata questions to a different thread.
 

Hubbs5

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
677
Reaction score
49
Location
Greeley, CO
Country
llUnited States
Since Rule G11.86 seems to state that a cave by itself is not an empty hex, but it can be a target of a STC, by itself, does an empty cave qualify for the -2 not entirely concealed/HIP DRM, if the cave is my target?
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,769
Reaction score
1,662
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Since Rule G11.86 seems to state that a cave by itself is not an empty hex, but it can be a target of a STC, by itself, does an empty cave qualify for the -2 not entirely concealed/HIP DRM, if the cave is my target?
I'll try to answer these as best I can, but you'd get more and probably quicker responses for these rules questions over in the Rules and Errata thread. https://www.gamesquad.com/forums/index.php?forums/rules-errata.38/

So a non-hidden cave is considered a building for Sighting purposes (so therefore not an empty hex). One could attempt to shoot the hex and probably hit the cave, but unless there is a real unit in the cave, the +3 for a target in the Cave and possibly -2 for non-concealed would then apply, otherwise, no. And if you attempted to shoot at the cave and hit it, you would need to recalculate the modifiers if there was in fact a real (HIP) unit there.
 

zcrater

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2003
Messages
165
Reaction score
145
Location
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
First name
Zeke
Country
llUnited States
Setting up for BD9 Good Luck Charm.
SSR4 "Prior to American set up, the Japanese may set up ≤ four squad equivalents HIP and any SW/ ≤ one SMC set up with them within the Horse(s)hoe East or West Cave Complexes."
I read that to mean no Japanese may set up in a cave. Correct?

Zeke
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,769
Reaction score
1,662
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Setting up for BD9 Good Luck Charm.
SSR4 "Prior to American set up, the Japanese may set up ≤ four squad equivalents HIP and any SW/ ≤ one SMC set up with them within the Horse(s)hoe East or West Cave Complexes."
I read that to mean no Japanese may set up in a cave. Correct?

Zeke
The 4 squad equivalents and any SW/SMC set up with them may set up as per SBR4 restrictions. If that means starting in a cave within the Horseshoe East or West Cave
Complexes then they are allowed to start in that cave.

The rest of the Japanese OB will be entering from the south edge.

One way to play it is have the SBR4 group start in the cave complex and then move to a cave complex on Sugar Loaf if you set up HIP cave on Sugar Loaf per SBR3
 

zcrater

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2003
Messages
165
Reaction score
145
Location
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
First name
Zeke
Country
llUnited States
If that means starting in a cave within the Horseshoe East or West Cave Complexes then they are allowed to start in that cave.
Gotcha. I read "set up within the Horseshoe East or West Cave Complexes" as meaning the Japanese could not setup in Horseshoe East or West caves but could only setup in the Horseshoe East or West Cave Complexes (G11.6 ... Each cave is Accessible to the Cave Complex whose boundaries it is set up within. Each Cave Complex is Accessible to each cave set up within its boundaries...). Allowing the Japanese to setup in the Horseshoe East or West caves lets the Japanese mortars try to smoke the Sugar Loaf death star.

One way to play it is have the SBR4 group start in the cave complex and then move to a cave complex on Sugar Loaf if you set up HIP cave on Sugar Loaf per SBR3
That does seem to be the best way to get some Japanese to Sugar Loaf.

Zeke
 
Top