Beserk units

sgtono

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
911
Reaction score
2
Location
Portland, OR
Country
llUnited States
If a Beserk stack end its movement in a top level location of a single hex building with a enemy broken unit and that broken unit is eliminated for failure to rout, does the beserk go back to normal? The beserkers did not cause the broken status of the enemy unit in question.

Keith
 

Ole Boe

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
2,874
Reaction score
10
Location
there...
Country
llNorway
No, it remains berserk.

It must eliminate all units (at least one) in its own Location by using TPBF during the AFPh, or by CC. Or by having no enemy units in LOS at the end of a charge. Killing units directly or indirectly (by failure to rout) in other phases does not make the berserk return to normal.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,452
Reaction score
2,018
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I even presume the Berserker must charge during his next MPh to the last occupied location of the broken unit...
 

Ole Boe

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
2,874
Reaction score
10
Location
there...
Country
llNorway
Yes, unless there are other enemy units in LOS, either at the start of its MPh or during it. If so, the berserk will charge this instead.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,452
Reaction score
2,018
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Just a remark about the situation described : the fact that the broken unit is in the Berserkers hex (or the contrary!) does not cause "failure to rout", by itself.
Thus a broken unit may rout out of the hex (or of the bldg level)... and rout further...
There should be other conditions (not described here) to invoke failure to rout...
 

sgtono

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
911
Reaction score
2
Location
Portland, OR
Country
llUnited States
Robin said:
Just a remark about the situation described : the fact that the broken unit is in the Berserkers hex (or the contrary!) does not cause "failure to rout", by itself.
Thus a broken unit may rout out of the hex (or of the bldg level)... and rout further...
There should be other conditions (not described here) to invoke failure to rout...
But the only place to route to is back down to the ground level of the building which is still adjacent to the beserker. So you are saying it would just get interdicted?

Keith
 

da priest

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
2,783
Reaction score
8
Location
Lebanon, Mo., turn r
ktodd said:
But the only place to route to is back down to the ground level of the building which is still adjacent to the beserker. So you are saying it would just get interdicted?

Keith
Could go to ground level..no interdiction there, has to continue rout, cause still Adjacent. if only new locations available are Interdictable, then demise for FTR.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,452
Reaction score
2,018
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Of course, the first place the unit can rout is ADJACENT.
It must rout further, of course - interdiction is not mandatory, if there is a non OG it can move to from there.
The rule A 10.51 states that, if ADJACENT, it cannot move ADJACENT (but here it begins in the enemy's hex, which is different).
A 10.5 says it cannot remain in the ennemy's hex, thus understating it will first move ADJACENT... and rout further, as it cannot remain ADJACENT either...
Note that, as the Berserk unit is not "Good Order", the routing unit may also use Low Crawl to leave the ADJACENT Ground level without surrendering as per A 20.21, if it does not want to risk interdiction...

Now, rule specialists, don't burn me alive if I said something wrong! :wink:
 

SamB

Shut up and play!
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
379
Location
Seattle, Washington,
Country
llUnited States
Could go to ground level..no interdiction there, has to continue rout, cause still Adjacent. if only new locations available are Interdictable, then demise for FTR.
Let's assume the berserk and the broken unit are on level 1 in a one hex multi-level building. The broken guys rout downstairs - this is OK in this instance because he started in the same location with the enemy. From the ground level, he MUST continue to rout. If he can't (other units, etc) then he dies for failure to rout. But even if all adjacent hexes are open ground he can (and must) continue to rout - taking interdiction as he goes.

Note that, as the Berserk unit is not "Good Order", the routing unit may also use Low Crawl to leave the ADJACENT Ground level without surrendering as per A 20.21, if it does not want to risk interdiction...

Now, rule specialists, don't burn me alive if I said something wrong!
OK. :lol:

Once the broken unit reaches the ground floor it is too late to use "low crawl". You've already changed locations... And I have no rule book handy, but I believe the berserkers will force the broken guy to keep routing.

Sam
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,452
Reaction score
2,018
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Once the broken unit reaches the ground floor it is too late to use "low crawl". You've already changed locations... And I have no rule book handy, but I believe the berserkers will force the broken guy to keep routing.
I knew I wasn't sure about that one... Thanks for letting me live some more time. :wink:

All I know is that if the unit is eliminated (surrender automatiquely refused by Berserker), this does not cause No Quarter, as Berserekr is not Good Order - AH answered that question some years ago (when I used to send SASE and was able to wait about two months for the answers!).
 
Top