B10.31 Height advantage

Jack Dionne

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
933
Reaction score
2
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Country
llCanada
Need to confirm height advantage when it comes to onboard mortars. Let’s say a mortar is firing at an enemy unit greater than or equal to one level higher than itself and it is within range, the enemy unit is in an open ground hex but higher.
Does the enemy unit get the benefit of +1drm when his opponent rolls on the IFT if he did hit even though he is in open ground, as though it was a direct fire attack?
 

alanp

Philosopher of ASL
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
3,019
Reaction score
109
Location
Alki Point
Country
llUnited States
B10.31 defines the HA TEM for "Direct Fire"--mortars use Indirect Fire so there's never HA TEM with them. See C1.55 [this is 1st ed. rule location; has 2nd ed. moved all this stuff together?]
 

Reepicheep

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Messages
3,246
Reaction score
20
Location
Toowoomba, QLD
Country
llAustralia
C9.1 - Mortars... are treated as Indirect Fire weapons for fire resolution purposes.

So since Height Advantage only applies to a unit receiving Direct Fire, the +1 drm would not apply.
 

Jack Dionne

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
933
Reaction score
2
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Country
llCanada
Reepicheep said:
C9.1 - Mortars... are treated as Indirect Fire weapons for fire resolution purposes.

So since Height Advantage only applies to a unit receiving Direct Fire, the +1 drm would not apply.
Just for my own clarification. The +1drm dose not apply to the IFT after the hit has occured and we are still refering to an open ground hex at a higher elevation from the firer.
 

Chris Milne

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
675
Reaction score
3
Location
Letchworth, UK
Country
ll
Height Advantage only applies to Direct Fire attacks, so never to mortar fire (before or after the TH roll).
 
Top