ASLSK or Basic ASL PBEM Opponent wanted (Newbie)

Fortunato

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llGermany
Hi All,

I started playing a year or so ago, mainly via FtF/VASL and with the help of a generous tutor. I've played some SK1 scenarios, but mainly full ASL with infrantry only (still make mistakes, though).
I'd like to get into PBEM and am looking for an opponent who has the patience to walk me through the basics of playing via email.

As I've never played by email before, I'm not sure how fast I will be able to respond - but I think I should manage a daily turnaround one I'm past the initial ramp-up.

Thank you in advance!

Fortunato

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llGermany
Inbox is exploding, thank you! Found opponents. What an outstanding community :)

Fortunato

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llGermany
Thank you for your tips!

Regarding your tip #5 ("avoid PBeM"): I understand what you are getting at. PBeM surely is surely a rather cumbersome way to learn the basics of the game.
However, where I'm living, FtF opponents are scarce, as is my time available to play FtF (job; family; the usual suspects).

After a year of playing ASL, I can manage my way through the SOP - at least when playing infantry scenarios with a low gun count. There is of course a plethora of rules that I still have to learn.
In other words: within the last year, I learned how to make my counters do stuff. Now I want to learn what stuff to do to win scenarios. It is my understanding that this is best achieved by playing opponents better than me (now these should be available in abundance). One FtF opponent explicitly suggested to get into PBeM as this would allow me to take my time, think and read rules.

At the moment, I have a PBeM game going (Full ASL) and have already learned a lot.

Nevertheless, I'm still looking for PBeM opponents to play through the ASLSK1 scenarios (including expansions and free stuff).
So, if anyone's interested - pm me (see also SK1 PBeM Opponent Wanted)