ASL Combat Results v Real Life

Mr Incredible

Rod loves red undies
Reaction score
Country
llAustralia
Have to say right up front I've never had any combat experience.

So, with the various results in the game, what do they represent in the real life battlefield?

Pin
Break
Failed ELR
CR
KIA
Berserk

Do the current range of ASL results fully cover the typical battlefield effects for a squad of infantry?

Is there anything that ASL does not necessarily model?

Just wondering and interested in other's views.

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Reaction score
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Like you I have no experience but for me:

Pin. Go to ground as they feel the shots coming in.
Break. Go to ground and redeploy out if the area.
ELR. The spirit of the group gets lessened with long term effects on whether they are willing to risk their lives .
K/ CR. Actual casualties. Maybe one or two guys hit so others are required to evacuate the casualties. In a rally attempt, this could be she'll shock or realising the small wounds are great than thought so need more treatment.
KIA. Significant casualties to more than 3 of the group.
Berserk,. Significant personal going mad and bringing the others with them. Often it would only be one or two who charge forwards but this can have an inspirational effect on the others.

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Reaction score
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Pin generated by a sniper may mean a guy was shot and the others are huddling onto the ground.
Break can also mean wounded or dead indivuduals, creating panick among their pals.
Etc.
I would venture that some results overlap when it comes to casualties.
And mixed results (half men go to ground, others have a nervous breakdown) are not depicted...
As usual ASL is impressionist in its rendering of "reality".
I never went up front and never will - at least with a weapon.

xenovin

Elder Member
Reaction score
First name
Vincent
Country
llUnited States