ASL1

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
ASL 17
Lost Opportunities

Pierce: German
Legion: American
As long as I've played this great game, this is my first attempt at an AAR so I'm looking forward to putting my thoughts down for one and all to enjoy or throw darts at or use for toilet paper .. or .. well ..

Although the German force outnumbers the Americans, got to beware of the brittleness of the German (actually Georgian troops) troops with an ELR of 2. Another concern for the German is keeping enough troops in good order. The Germans instantly lose if they have less than nine unbroken squads/equivalents in play. With my aggressive play, that would come back to haunt me.

German Setup:

My plan was to isolate one part of the battlefield to keep the Americans from reinforcing the area that I was attacking. I wanted to place an mmg and lmg with a leader in 2D4 on turn 1 in order to place a mg firelane from 2D4 out to 1J0. A 50mm mortar in 2F7 (level 2 hill) and a 50mm mortar in 2G6 (level 1 hill). These mortars were to acquire the 1C1 through 1C3 woods hexes and the woods hexes surrounding 1B6. My biggest concern with my avenue of approach was the location of the U.S. mmg's (I thought might be in upper level building locations) since my attack plan called for me to cross the open ground between the board 2 B hexrow and the board 1 B hexrow. My Marder I would fire smoke to help in this approach. As the game progressed, I discovered that Legion had not placed his mmg's on the upper building levels.

The Game: