Artillery Ammunition

Schweinewitz

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llGermany
Hello everyone! :ciao:

I'm new to the Napoleonic Battle series, so please excuse my perhaps noobish questions. Looked for answers in the several help documents that come with the game but couldn't find proper info.

ATM I'm playing the Goldberg scenario from Campaign Leipzig, French vs AI. Took Goldberg, pushed away the Russians from the Wolfsberg etc. So far, so good. Now, at turn 52, my artillery has no more ammo. I mean, ALL of my artillery batteries AT THE SAME TIME, even those that were released just some turns ago and weren't able to fire a single shot up to now.

OK, so how's artillery supply represented in the game?

For my infantry there are plenty of supply wagons left, I even captured a number of Russian ones. All of them are placed near the front line so that the majority of my units are in supply range. Seems that the wagons do not supply artillery, right?

If that's the fact, why is all artillery without ammo at the same time? Is there a kind of 'ammo pool' from which all batteries are supplied so if that 'pool' runs empty the guns remain silent? :hmmm:

KEYSTONE07950

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Check out the isolation effects optional rule in the main program help file.

From the user manual:
When an Isolated Artillery unit fires, it may become Low or Out-Of-
Ammo. The Artillery unit will become resupplied when it becomes non-
Isolated, unless the Artillery supply level for its side is zero.

Schweinewitz

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llGermany
Thanks for the reply, Keystone!

In this scenario I had not activated the isolation effects (in the optional rules), so this cannot be the reason for my problem. Also all artillery units are concerned on the same turn, I think not all of them can be isolated. In fact there was no note before that one of them (or all) is low of ammo.

Lord_Valentai

Reaction score
Country
llAustralia