Ammo Vehicles in the AFPh

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,472
Reaction score
528
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Q. It seems as if all that is required of an Ammo Vehicle to benefit a
Gun with a circled B# is to be in an accessible location. Is this
benefit accrued to the Gun if either or both (if the Gun in question
is a vehicular mounted one) are "In-Motion/Moving/Non-Stopped"?

A. No.

....Perry
MMP
A very necessary ruling considering what the rules as-written unrealistically seemed to allow for. However, is "Moving" just applicable to "targets" once the vehicle has "stopped"?:

C.8 MOVING VEHICULAR TARGET: A vehicle is considered a moving target for To Hit/Effects purposes only if during the current Player Turn it has entered a new hex, or used VBM (D2.3), or began its MPh in Motion (D2.4), or is currently in Motion.​

In other words, would an SPG (with a circled B#) that moves, stops, then fires in the AFPh gain the benefit from that ammo truck which moved then stopped alongside (in an "accessible location")? Both would be considered "moving" until the end of the AFPh for any TEM or hindrance purposes (D9.3, 9.4), but are they considered to be moving otherwise.

From what I can tell, a vehicle is no longer moving once it stops, even though it may still be considered a "moving target." So a stopped vehicle should be able to make use of an accessible, stopped Ammo Vehicle during the AFPh - even when either (or both) vehcles(s) stopped after moving to a new hex. It makes a significant difference tactically, whether the Ammo Truck can be used during the AFPh after movement to a new hex.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
15,960
Reaction score
2,479
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
In other words, would an SPG (with a circled B#) that moves, stops, then fires in the AFPh gain the benefit from that ammo truck which moved then stopped alongside (in an "accessible location")?
Yes it would.

E10.21:

10.21 RESTRICTIONS:
Once an Ammo Vehicle’s B# benefit is used for Prep Fire, it may not expend MP in the subsequent MPh. (Mark it with a Prep Fire counter to indicate such.) An Ammo Vehicle’s B# benefit cannot be used in Bounding (First) Fire, but it can otherwise be used in the AFPh, provided 10.2 is adhered to.
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,472
Reaction score
528
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Yes it would.

E10.21:

10.21 RESTRICTIONS:
Once an Ammo Vehicle’s B# benefit is used for Prep Fire, it may not expend MP in the subsequent MPh. (Mark it with a Prep Fire counter to indicate such.) An Ammo Vehicle’s B# benefit cannot be used in Bounding (First) Fire, but it can otherwise be used in the AFPh, provided 10.2 is adhered to.
Thanks...I agree that this should be the case. But before the new Q&A was issued, it seemed like even an In-Motion Ammo Vehicle could still be used. I am only asking about moved-but-stopped vehicles since the Q&A includes "moving" vehicles.

Is a stopped vehicle that moved to a new hex still a "moving" vehicle during the AFPh for this purpose?
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
20,829
Reaction score
5,032
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Is a stopped vehicle that moved to a new hex still a "moving" vehicle during the AFPh for this purpose?
I think you have to take the C.8 definition of "moving" as applicable for TH/Effects purposes only. Ammunition supply is neither TH nor effects purposes.

JR
 
Top