"America Rant" from Newsroom...best show on American television?

jbertoglio

Reaction score
Key rant in the speech given in the first episode of the cable drama, Newsroom. You have to see this show!

http://lybio.net/the-newsroom-what-makes-america-the-greatest-country-in-the-world/television/

Would that it was not true. :( :clap:

[Student]

Hi, my name is Jenny, I’m a sophomore and this for all three of you. Can you say in one sentence or less – what – (laughing in background) you know what I mean: “Can you say why America is the greatest country in the world?”

[Will (news anchor) edited]

IT’S NOT

Fine. Sharon, the NEA is a loser. Yeah, it accounts for a penny out of our paycheck, but he gets to hit you with it anytime he wants. It doesn’t cost money. It costs votes. It costs airtime. And column inches. You know why people don’t like liberals? Because they lose. If liberals are so ****in’ smart then how come they lose so ******* always?

And with a straight face, you’re gonna sit there and tell students that America is so star-spangled awesome that we’re the only ones in the world who have freedom? Canada has freedom. Japan has freedom. The U.K. France. Italy. Germany. Spain. Australia. BELGIUM has freedom. (laughs) Two hundred and seven sovereign states in the world, like, a hundred and eighty of them have freedom.