AFV in Motion...when can it fire during the its next MPh?

Bocko

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2003
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Dayton Ohio
Country
llUnited States
Good Day All

If a AFV in motion canNOT fire during the Prep Fire and must expend 1 MP in its next MPh. So can the AFV fire as its 1st MP on that MPh? If not please aim me to the rules section(s).

Thanks
Chris :)
 

SamB

Shut up and play!
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
6,792
Reaction score
379
Location
Seattle, Washington,
Country
llUnited States
It CAN fire as its first MP expenditure, but its chances of hitting anything will be very small. (unless it has a gyro).

If it fires on its first MP expenditure it will usually have the following DRM...

+2 Case B
+2 Case C (+3 for NT)
+2 Case C2 (Limited Aim)
Double the lower dr Case C4
+1 buttoned up?

Pretty grim.

Sam
 

Pitman

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
13,613
Reaction score
947
Location
Columbus, OH
Country
llUnited States
Why would it have the limited aim drm? That wouldn't count for targets that it could see at the beginning of the movement phase.
 

Bocko

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2003
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Dayton Ohio
Country
llUnited States
+2 Case C2 (Limited Aim)

Yes, I was curious about the "+2 Case C2 (Limited Aim)." Please explain.

thanks
Chris B
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,142
Reaction score
1,022
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
SamB said:
It CAN fire as its first MP expenditure, but its chances of hitting anything will be very small. (unless it has a gyro).

If it fires on its first MP expenditure it will usually have the following DRM...
As some have pointed out, limited aim will normally not apply; note too that the vehicle can fire before expending a MP.

Which brings me to my all time worse tank loss. I had a PzIIIn in a stone building concealed. I had STUNNED an opponent's tank. In his MPh, he started driving off-board and took a shot at my concealed afv. The mods were:
+4 BFF
+1 STUN
+3 TEM
+2 Concealed
Double lower dr

Of course he rolls a DR2 and sdr1, and burns the PzIII.
 

SamB

Shut up and play!
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
6,792
Reaction score
379
Location
Seattle, Washington,
Country
llUnited States
Of course he rolls a DR2 and sdr1, and burns the PzIII.
Whine, whine, whine.... :wink:

As others have pointed out, limited aim will not apply if firing on the first MP because we would have been in LOS from the beginning of the MPh.

Sam "So, I blew a DRM - what else is new?" Belcher
 
Top