Aerial Attack versus Concealed Unit in Open Ground

BraveDave

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
141
Reaction score
5
Location
Darien, Illinois
Country
llUnited States
The following is Perry Sez Q&A:

E7.25

An airplane passed a Sighting TC versus a Concealed Target (infantry or an AFV), does Case K (C6.2) apply to the TH DR?

A: Yes, unless the target is moving in open ground.

Does this also mean that a strafing run uses the full firepower on the IFT versus a concealed target moving in open ground?
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,468
Reaction score
529
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Based on Perry's response, yes. All this seems pretty clear in the RB. According to E7.25:

Aircraft cannot cause loss of "?" or prevent the gaining of "?" by "seeing" an enemy unit; aircraft cause "?"-loss only by attacking concealed units and scoring at least a PTC result on the IFT (provided that attacked unit is within the LOS of a Good Order enemy ground unit). However, a unit moving in Open Ground would not be considered concealed to the aircraft, although the aircraft player may not inspect that stack unless it passes the Sighting TC.​
Even without Perry's ruling, I would assume that the highlighted passage means that neither Case K nor Area Fire on the IFT apply (since a concealed unit moving in OG isn't considered concealed to Aircraft).
 
Top