Activation of suspect AFV in hex that it would have to be in bypass

Simon62

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2019
Messages
478
Reaction score
65
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Hi,

I am playing a VotG SASL campaign and I have a friendly German unit move adjacent to an enemy suspect counter in a railcar hex. The suspect counter activates and a AFV is generated.

AVF cannot be in railcars but can be in the hex in bypass - is there any rule for which hex the AFV will setup in bypass. There are 4 options but 2 are behind the railcar in relation to the friendly unit so I have discounted them as I cannot bring the friendly unit into the LOS if using these 2 bypass options.

I assume I setup in bypass to get the most targets into the covered arc but this is the same regardless of which bypass hex I use - I assume I can then decide based on the best interest of the enemy unit? or does the AVF not get generated in a hex where it has to setup in bypass?

Simon
 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,633
Reaction score
2,105
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
I think the AFV would be in bypass, and you should place it as best for the enemy unit. I think the only time you reroll is when the generated unit can't be in that Location, e.g. an OT vehicle in an interior building hex.
 

Barking Monkey

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
246
Reaction score
329
Location
Virginia
First name
John
Country
llUnited States
Per S5.61 a unit activating in a prohibited location is forfeit. Activation rules don't incorporate bypass - I think since, as you're finding out, it gets too complicated.
 

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,918
Reaction score
5,102
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
SASL is your game, but COWTRA is still the best approach to resolving conundrums encountered. One has simply to ask yourself a few questions in this instance: 1). Is the unit activated in the Location? A. Obviously YES; 2). Is there more than one Location involved in the hex and unit activation? A. No; 3). Do the ASL rules allow for units in bypass? A. Yes.; Conundrum resolved.
 
Top