A9.22: Does a Cowering FL leave RFP?

Reepicheep

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Messages
3,246
Reaction score
20
Location
Toowoomba, QLD
Country
llAustralia
Situation: 4-6-7 w/LMG First Fires (w/o leadership) & declaring a firelane. Generally this leaves 2RFP in the target hex and establishes a 1FP firelane.

The DR is: 2,2 , a cower result. No FL is placed, attack is reduced to the 4 column, and squad/LMG are marked w/Final Fire.

What RFP is placed? 2RFP (1/2 of 4FP) or 1FP (1/2 of Squad FP only and discounting the LMG since it was trying to place a FL)?

For what its worth: We played that both squad & LMG contributed to RFP figuring that the LMG FP had to "go" somewhere, but looking for opinions.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,372
Reaction score
1,935
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
A 9.22 stipulates that if Infantry cowers, it cannot place a FL.
As the FL is not placed, RF takes in account the LMG FP (it still fires during DFF, and loses its ROF by the way), thus leaving a 2 RF FP...
So I believe you chose the right solution (note that the result still is inferior to the "fire lane", i. e. only 2 RF FP and not 2 RF FP + 1FP FL).
Let us now see what the true experts of this forum believe! 8)
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,180
Reaction score
1,115
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Reepicheep said:
For what its worth: We played that both squad & LMG contributed to RFP figuring that the LMG FP had to "go" somewhere, but looking for opinions.
I believe you played it correctly.
 
Top