A7.55 Mandatory Firegroups

Sparafucil3

Forum Guru
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
10,309
Reaction score
3,537
Location
USA
First name
Jim
Country
llUnited States
Perry,
7.55 MANDATORY FG: If Good Order units/weapons in the same Location are going to fire at the same target (i.e., at both the same Location and the same unit and the same “ simultaneous ” [ 8.1 ] MF/MP expenditure; see D3.5 ) during the same phase they must form a FG [EXC: Fire Lane; 9.22] ; they may not attack separately except with ordnance/FT/DC or the subsequent shots of multiple ROF weapons ( 9.2 ).

Assume all attacks spoken of below occur on the IFT. Ordnance attacks are clearly not subject to mandatory FG's according to A7.55

Must a Squad an HT in the same Location form a FG to attack an eligible target on the IFT?

Now imagine a squad and a tank/AC/Armed Truck which is not included in D6.64 or otherwise allowed to FG by SSR wishing to attack the same target. Would one unit have to forego it's attack per A7.55 if each wished to attack on the same MF? Would one have to forego it's attack in Final Fire if they each wished to attack the same uint?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<<Must a Squad an HT in the same Location form a FG to attack an eligible target on the IFT?>>

Yes (if both want to attack).

<<Now imagine a squad and a tank/AC/Armed Truck which is not included in D6.64 or otherwise allowed to FG by SSR wishing to attack the >same target. Would one unit have to forego it's attack per A7.55 if each wished to attack on the same MF?>>

No. They can attack separately.


<<Would one have to forego it's attack in Final Fire if they each wished to attack the same unit?>>

No. They can attack separately.

If you can FG together, then you must.
If you cannot FG together, then you can fire separately.
Expect to see errata to clarify A7.55.
....Perry
 

WuWei

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
979
Reaction score
606
Location
Germany
First name
Tobias
Country
llGermany
And the answer that I got:
Are GO units/weapons that aren't allowed to form a Firegroup exempt from the restrictions of A7.55?
Yes.
Example: During the PFPh, can the BMG of a tank and a MMC (wanting >to use its inherent FP) in the same location both fire separately at >the same enemy unit?
Yes.

If you can FG together, then you must.
If you cannot FG together, then you can fire separately.
Expect to see errata to clarify A7.55.

....Perry
MMP
---
 
Top