A7.353 SFF Inherent FP vs non adjacent targets

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
20,384
Reaction score
6,598
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
A7.353 is about crew/HS manning a SW and having used it previously.
A7.353 In both of the above cases, Subsequent First Fire (8.3), FPF (8.31), and Final Fire (8.4) vs adjacent units retain halved inherent FP for those attacks (regardless of how they were used during First Fire)—although use of full SW/Gun capability during such attacks can negate inherent FP in the normal manner. See the 8.41 EX.
There is a debate on the Italian forum, I think, about the possibility that SFF could be used vs non adjacent targets.
Good players have answered positively.

I beg to differ for the following reason:
1) FPF and Final Fire normally apply only to adjacent targets.
So the "vs adjacent units" mention would be redundant in those cases.

2) So "vs adjacent units" is indicated to apply to SFF (which normally is not restricted to adjacent targets). Why would that precision mean otherwise?

Thoughts?
 

Houtje

Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
175
Reaction score
121
Location
Goes
Country
llNetherlands
A7.353 is about crew/HS manning a SW and having used it previously.

There is a debate on the Italian forum, I think, about the possibility that SFF could be used vs non adjacent targets.
Good players have answered positively.

I beg to differ for the following reason:
1) FPF and Final Fire normally apply only to adjacent targets.
So the "vs adjacent units" mention would be redundant in those cases.

2) So "vs adjacent units" is indicated to apply to SFF (which normally is not restricted to adjacent targets). Why would that precision mean otherwise?

Thoughts?
Interesting question. One thing, wrt to your first point: 'Final Fire', according to 8.4, is "that portion of Defensive Fire which occurs during the DFPh", so its general definition does not presume adjacency. In this case, of course, it will actually be the Final Fire of units that are already First fired, and thus Final Fire that can only be against adjacent units: however, since Final Fire in general can be against any unit (adjacent or not), the "vs adjacent units" in 7.353 could be intended to clarify that it is not about Final Fire in general, but only, indeed, about Final Fire against adjacent units.

I probably could have put this a bit more clearly, but pollen allergy is fogging up my mind :)

Anyway, the sentence could then be read to apply to: SFF (against adjacent or non-adjacent units), FPF (by definition always against adjacent units), and Final Fire (in this case always against adjacent units). My idea is that the explications I put in red are not mentioned because they were thought to be clear/evident, but that the one I put in blue IS mentioned (as a reminder), since Final Fire is not by definition against adjacent units.
 
Last edited:

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
20,384
Reaction score
6,598
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Thanks for the answer.
You may be right indeed.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
20,376
Reaction score
8,155
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
This has been asked before, and there might even be Q&A.

Plus this Tip from the latest Journal...


ASL Journal 15, page 25.
Provided it doesn’t cower, a squad that uses two SW (including two attempts at PF) in Defensive First Fire can still use its Inherent FP
as Subsequent First Fire (A8.3) in the normal way per A7.353. That rule does not restrict Subsequent First Fire to adjacent units, only
Final Fire (A8.4) and (obviously) FPF (A8.31).
 

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
20,384
Reaction score
6,598
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I do find the rule ambiguous.
But I will follow the case law decision.
 

Tesgora

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
192
Reaction score
215
Location
Laniakea
Country
llCanada
See also the excellent post by Jim Bishop on this subject.
In my opinion, this is another instance where the rulebook could benefit from a clearer statement of the rule.
 
Last edited:
Top