A4.44 Recovery and A23.3 DC Placement

cooljrunner

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2013
Messages
85
Reaction score
9
Location
Northern California
Country
llUnited States
A squad possessing a Demo Charge finds itself Adjacent to a stack of enemies and attempts to place the DC as its first action in the Mph. The enemies fire promptly breaking the squad. A nearby friendly leader moves into the now broken squad's hex and, following A4.44, recovers the DC from the squad. The leader then attempts to place the DC on the Adjacent stack of enemies. Is this (second) placement attempt by the leader legal? A23.3 has me confused which says "if the Placing unit is broken, pinned, or eliminated before or during Placement, the DC is not operably Placed, remains with the Placing unit and may not attack - although it is still usable for future Recovery / Placement attempts".
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,223
Reaction score
292
Location
Michigan
Country
llUnited States
This is not legal as per the end of A4.4:

...No item can be portaged more than once per phase except as allowed by combined Infantry and vehicle portage within a single phase.​
As for A23.3, the DC can still be used in the future, should someone ever pick it up first.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
19,153
Reaction score
3,780
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
A squad possessing a Demo Charge finds itself Adjacent to a stack of enemies and attempts to place the DC as its first action in the Mph. The enemies fire promptly breaking the squad. A nearby friendly leader moves into the now broken squad's hex and, following A4.44, recovers the DC from the squad. The leader then attempts to place the DC on the Adjacent stack of enemies. Is this (second) placement attempt by the leader legal? A23.3 has me confused which says "if the Placing unit is broken, pinned, or eliminated before or during Placement, the DC is not operably Placed, remains with the Placing unit and may not attack - although it is still usable for future Recovery / Placement attempts".

A SW may not be portaged twice in the same MPh [A4.4]. "Portaging" in this context means that the unit that possesses the SW expends MF. Once the squad spent the MF to place the DC, the DC had been portaged once. I believe the leader may recover the DC from the squad, but once it does it may not expend any further MF in that MPh.

JR
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
19,153
Reaction score
3,780
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
A very similar situation is covered in a q&a. Here the leader is moving with the squad:

q&a said:
A4.44 Situation: a stack composed by a squad with a DC and a leader is assault moving. They spend 2 MF trying to place the DC, but the defender reacts with first fire and the squad breaks. The leader can now recover (A4.44) the DC without MF expenditure and residual FP attack. After that, the leader, still assault moving and with sufficient MFs tries to place himself the DC. Is this scenario allowed?
A. No, that would be portaging the DC more than once; A4.44.
JR
 
Top