A20.55 ESCAPE : what if a Prisoner fails its NTC?

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,284
Reaction score
1,861
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Hi all,

Situation 1 : About A20.55 ESCAPE : a Prisoner is guarded by a broken unit; it wants to attack the squad but fails its NTC.
Questions :
1.1 Does one still consider that a CC situation occurs?
1.2 If there is an unbroken unit friendly to the broken guard, can it attack the MMC?
1.3 If the answer to 1) is yes, does one consider that the units are in Melee?

Other question:
Situation 2 : CCPh (whether Melee or not), a Prisoner guarded by a broken unit, and an unbroken unit friendly to the broken guard is in the same Location.
Question 2.1 : if the Prisoner attacks the guard, may the unbroken unit friendly to the broken guard attack the Prisoner?

Thank you in advance for your answers.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,284
Reaction score
1,861
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I have a follow-up questions.

Situation 3 : It is APh and a broken unit is a guard of a Prisoner, with another unpinned, Good Order unit friendly to the guard in the same Location.
Rule A20.5 says : "The captor unit becomes the Guard and may only be relieved of that task during any friendly RPh/APh in which the prisoners—if not involved in Melee with the Guard—are either transferred above another guarding unit in the same manner as a SW (4.431) or abandoned."

Questions :
3.1
Does this mean that the unbroken unit cannot recover the Prisoner?
3.2 Would an unpinned, Good Order SMC still be allowed to recover the Prisoner during the next RPh (or further on, during its MPh) as per A4.44 ("Only a SMC can Recover a SW/Gun possessed by a friendly broken unit, and does this by rolling a Recovery Final dr of < 6 (Δ) in its RPh/MPh without need of MF expenditure")?
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,534
Reaction score
1,221
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
3.1 The broken unit cannot Transfer the POWs to the GO unit, but the GO unit would automatically Recover such POWs. Both units in a normal situation have to be Good Order to transfer A4.431 "...but in all cases only between different Good Order unpinned units in the same Location [EXC: Wire (B26.4); Panji (C9.52); NA between Crest-status units and units IN a Depression], and only during a RPh, at the start of their APh, or as a result of the creation of a sub-unit from a MMC."

3.2 Yes (I believe) A20.5 "...are either transferred above another guarding unit in the same manner as a SW (4.431) or abandoned." This is less clear and not reinforced by a similar notation of the applicability of A4.44 in such a case.

In each case proposed I would advise the Guard to abandon the POWs (doesn't seem the guard has to be GO to do this) and the other GO unit would automatically become its guard.

[EDIT] If one takes into account A4.3 (not mentioned as a reference in A20.5) the above tactic may not be possible either. After some further thought on the matter I would think the provisions of A4.3 must also apply but am less sure of this assumption.
 
Last edited:

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
15,780
Reaction score
2,319
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
3.2 Would an unpinned, Good Order SMC still be allowed to recover the Prisoner during the next RPh (or further on, during its MPh) as per A4.44 ("Only a SMC can Recover a SW/Gun possessed by a friendly broken unit, and does this by rolling a Recovery Final dr of < 6 (Δ) in its RPh/MPh without need of MF expenditure")?
Not according to this (unofficial) Q&A:

A20.5
In each situation, there is a broken Guard with a prisoner and no enemy units in the same Location.
1. May a GO SMC attempt a Recovery attempt of the prisoners from the broken Guard as per a SW Recovery?
A. No.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,284
Reaction score
1,861
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Thanks for the answers.
I should have looked the Q&A up.
 
Top