Background to that Q&A:
Situation:
An SSR grants part of an Order of Battle to set up HIP provided this is done so in Concealment Terrain. Among the Units in question are normal squads but also a number of OB-given Dummy counters.
The sample SSR which triggered this question reads like this:
"Japanese units set up in Concealment Terrain on a hill hex do so HIP."
The Japanese order of battle contains a number of "?" counters.
Rules:
Per the index:
Unit: any game piece or counter with its own MF/MP allotment and normally capable of movement without being portaged, pushed, or towed. Infantry, Cavalry [but not horses], Dummy stacks, and vehicles (even if Immobilized) are all different types of units
Per the rules:
A12.3 HIDDEN INITIAL PLACEMENT (HIP): A SSR may allow HIP for one or more units. HIP is a form of concealment wherein a player may secretly record the location of his units in Concealment Terrain (including the TCA/VCA for AFVs and CA for ⅝" ordnance weapons) by written side record rather than placing them on board beneath "?". Hidden Status is considered the equal of concealment except as otherwise specified. Solitaire players should substitute two "?" in a side's OB for each squad-capacity of HIP that a SSR grants that side.
Existing Q&A:
A12.11 & A12.3
Can a stack of two “?” counters use HIP as if they were an emplaced gun and a crew?
A. No; Dummies may not set up HIP.
Question:
Is it allowed to set up Dummy Stacks HIP?
Bottomline:
It is not possible for Dummies "acting as" Gun&Crew to benefit from Emplacement TEM.
More than that, in general, Dummies may not use HIP.
von Marwitz