A12.15 AFV vs Inf in Grain

aslwynn

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
382
Reaction score
6
Location
Vernon, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
An 'unbroken' AFV emters the Location of concealed Inf in Grain (actually in a foxhole). The Inf passes its PAATC so retains concealment. If the AFV opts to end its MPh in that same Location does the Inf lose its concealment as it would if the AFV were in bypass of concealed Inf in a woods or building?
 

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,669
Reaction score
2,265
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
An 'unbroken' AFV emters the Location of concealed Inf in Grain (actually in a foxhole). The Inf passes its PAATC so retains concealment. If the AFV opts to end its MPh in that same Location does the Inf lose its concealment as it would if the AFV were in bypass of concealed Inf in a woods or building?
No, the unit has already passed its concealment TC for a vehicle in its location unlike the effects of bypass where the unit would automatically lose concealment.
 

aslwynn

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
382
Reaction score
6
Location
Vernon, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
No, the unit has already passed its concealment TC for a vehicle in its location unlike the effects of bypass where the unit would automatically lose concealment.
That's what we concluded, though it seemed counter-intuitive to both of us.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,145
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
The rule that a vehicle in bypass causes concealment loss is one that has always mystified me. There doesn't seem to be any reason for it, either from a "reality" standpoint or from a game standpoint. But I play it as written because it is so clear.

JR
 

Stewart

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
1,396
Reaction score
127
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
Too bad the ?ment retainment at the end of the MPH isn't so clear....
 

aneil1234

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
446
Reaction score
158
Location
an Aussie in Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Country
llUnited Kingdom
The rule that a vehicle in bypass causes concealment loss is one that has always mystified me. There doesn't seem to be any reason for it, either from a "reality" standpoint or from a game standpoint. But I play it as written because it is so clear.

JR

Cannot agree more !
It is one of the few rules that I really question what the designers were trying to achieve with that
the only justification I can come up with is the fact that the vehicle is going to get ""Street fighted""
but that isn't enough it's what the rule says and that's what we do because it's what the rule says
 
Top