A11.8 Street fighting Ambush and concealment

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,338
Reaction score
1,896
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Hi all,
A concealed unit passes its PAATC and attacks an ADJ (lone) AFV on a road hex, using Street Fighting.
The attack succeeds.
Does the attacking unit retain concealment?
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,338
Reaction score
1,896
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I was indeed in question due to the Streetfighting Ambush DRM - which I reckon is different from Ambush in itself.
Thank you, Klas !
 

lightspeed

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
195
Reaction score
54
Location
Calgary
Country
llCanada
I believe "attacking in CC" is a "?"-loss action, unless you Ambush (A11.4) and kill the target. Which is not the case here (even if you do get a -1 "Ambush" DRM).
Agreed.

Have a look at A12.14 (4th bullet in the second set of bullets):

[? Is lost immediately...if it] "attacks in CC [EXC: an Ambush attack which eliminates/captures the defending unit(s); 11.4],"

11.4 is Ambush. 11.8 is Street Fighting and half way down it says something about the CC DRM which is not cumulative with Ambush "unless actual Ambush occurs."

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar...sometimes Ambush isn't actual Ambush.

Indy
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,599
Reaction score
1,268
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Unfortunately I rarely have to worry about implementation of this rule. I normally gain "Ambush", roll a 12 resulting in Casualty Reduction, and Yahtzee the RS drs if I have a Ldr involved (of course the wound severity dr is a KIA). Just ask Houlie.:mad::D
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,338
Reaction score
1,896
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
A Vehicle has +2 to its ambush dr, so it can be quite easily ambushed if in a woods-road hex.
 
Top