A11.4 Ambush and Withdrawal

sgtono

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
911
Reaction score
2
Location
Portland, OR
Country
llUnited States
A11.4 Ambush and Withdrawal

Conditions - deep snow, extreme winter Russians vs Finns in Raate Road

both unconcealed Russian squad and concealed Finn squad in woods.

Russian squad advances on to ? Finn. Finn wins ambush, he elects not to fight and stay in same hex. Same Finn squad Prep fires at TBF at same hex Russian.

Legal ? If so rule reference please.

TIA,

Keith
 

Chas Argent

Play to the end.
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
6,285
Reaction score
646
Location
Catonsville, MD
Country
llUnited States
Yes; A11.15; only Known units are held in Melee.

The "?" unit may either Prep Fire vs the units in the same hex (in fact, he may only fire vs. these units if he chooses to shoot at all because of Target Selection Limits [A7.212] OR he may leave the location in the next MPh/APh.
 

WaterRabbit

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
2,566
Reaction score
28
Location
Somewhere
Country
llGreenland
Of course, if he doesn't break/eliminate them, he will loose concealment, since they are GO. If no one advances into that hex, ambush will not apply.

Also see A11.15 [EXC: Any unit which retains its concealment (11.19) is not locked in Melee itself nor can it hold opposing units in Melee. It is free to fire in its next Fire Phase (into the Melee at TPBF; 7.212) or leave the Location in its next MPh/APh. Therefore, a concealed unit may wish to decline its CC attack opportunity in a effort to save its concealment. Upon losing its "?" such a unit in a Melee Location is immediately held in Melee].
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,201
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
WaterRabbit said:
Of course, if he doesn't break/eliminate them, he will loose concealment, since they are GO.
The concealed squad will lose concealment when it fires, even if it breaks the unit it was firing at (assuming the russian in its location is in Good Order at the time the attack is announced)
 

takinapoo

Recruit
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Vancouver
Country
llPoland
Why wouldnt it be, the ? could just be covering another ?, then there is no melee at all.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,201
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
takinapoo said:
Why wouldnt it be, the ? could just be covering another ?, then there is no melee at all.
Dummies are eliminated at the beginning of the CCPh.
 

WaterRabbit

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
2,566
Reaction score
28
Location
Somewhere
Country
llGreenland
Brian,

Agreed and agreed. I was thinking of the case if he had allowed a unit to remain unconcealed to create a Melee.
 
Top