A 23.6 Thrown DC + A 23.41 & B 24.11 Rubble

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,337
Reaction score
1,893
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
This situation occurred playing "Flames of Unrest"...

A squad at 1st level of a building throws a DC in an adjacent road hex.
Rolling the effects against itself, the DR is an Original KIA (i.e. 2 to 4).

Here are the questions this situation arises (from easier to harder, IMHO) :

1) Can a thrown DC create Rubble - cf. B24.11 dr ?

2) Does anything happen to units at Ground Level of the building?
[my sense of logic pushes me to suppose some effect, though the rules seem quite silent on the subject]...

3) If rubble does occur [granted answer to 1st question is "yes"], does it happen at ground or 1st level of building?

In the situation described, I rolled Rubble dr, and I was blessed it did not indicate Rubble occured... so my question is not urgent at all.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,172
Reaction score
1,089
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Robin said:
1) Can a thrown DC create Rubble - cf. B24.11 dr ?

2) Does anything happen to units at Ground Level of the building?
[my sense of logic pushes me to suppose some effect, though the rules seem quite silent on the subject]...

3) If rubble does occur [granted answer to 1st question is "yes"], does it happen at ground or 1st level of building?
1) Yes, I think so.
2) Not unless the building collapses because of an upper level rubble effect
3) At the 1st level, and possible the whole building if it collapses due to the 1st level rubbling.

This seems very strange and I hope I am wrong, but that is how I read the rules.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,337
Reaction score
1,893
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Thanks!
I would also play that way, as it seems to stick to the rules...
But the feeling of strangeness remains... :roll:
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,337
Reaction score
1,893
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Would you appreciate me sending these questions to Perry Cocke?
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,337
Reaction score
1,893
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
"OFFICIAL" answer

Here is Perry's answer (I also put it in Perry Sez posts) :

Rule:A 23.6 Thrown DC + A 23.41 & B 24.11 Rubble

A squad at 1st level of a building throws a DC in an adjacent road hex.
Rolling the effects against itself, the DR is an Original KIA (i.e. 2 to 4).

Here are the questions this situation arises:

1) Can a thrown DC create Rubble - cf. B24.11 dr ?

Yes, but only in the DC's original target Location.

2) Does anything happen to units at Ground Level of the building?

No.

....Perry
MMP
 
Top