2004 Enfilade AAR (Long)

Will Fleming

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
===================================

Round One: J88 Escape to Wiltz vs Jim Roche

It was a nice surprise being able to get a game in against Jim. I started playing ASL in the Pacific Northwest about 8 years ago and got to meet Jim then, but I wasn't able to get in a game against him ever due to conflicts with our schedules and waxing/waning interest in the game. Both of us are a bit rusty, so we thought it would be a fair game. I certainly have been playing a lot less games in Japan than I was back in Seattle.

This scenario has both sides entering from off map in two groups. The German chasing force comes on first and rushes down the road to interdict the Americans who must exit 28 VPs off the map. The Germans get a small delaying force that enters on turn two near the exit area, but they are poorly matched and need as much help from the chasing force as possible. The American force also enters in two turns and must rush to exit the bulk of their force while preventing the chasing force from causing too much trouble. Both of us selected the Americans, but I got the Germans and the balance on the dice roll. We both liked this one because there is a sense of urgency on both sides and both side have to press. I would say that this one has a fair replay value for me, but it isn't one that I will be pushing to play again with so many scenarios yet to try.

I sent the bulk of my forces down the road with one squad and a leader on the far edge of the board, hoping that they would find some American units to pester.

Jim did a good job of splitting his initial forces. He sent the 10-2 and a couple of squads towards the center of the map to prevent my chasing group from running down the road and kept his AFV on board 4 to cover the other open ground area where I could move easily. The mobility of the AFV makes it a good choice to harass the Germans while still being able to exit.