Search results

  1. Houtje

    One-Man Turret and firing CMG & MA

    Maybe you were thinking about D1.82: "A turret Rear MG has a Normal Range of eight hexes, may not be used in OVR or the same phase in which the MA fires, and can fire only through its rear turret Target Facing or at a target in the same hex (see 3.5)." Not about 1MT, of course, but it's a rule...
  2. Houtje

    Pz IV J in scenario WO15 Liberation Day?

    Copied from the AAR section (hoping to draw some more eyes to what are (partly) rules questions): Scenario WO15 (Liberation Day) is set in January 1944, and the Germans have three PzIV J's, but in the GERMAN VEHICLE RARITY FACTOR CHART that AFV is not available until June 1944. So that seems...
  3. Houtje

    WO15 - Liberation Day

    I'll put the questions in the rules section.
  4. Houtje

    WO15 - Liberation Day

    We did! I know, since we played it together! :)
  5. Houtje

    WO15 - Liberation Day

    Another question about this scenario (which I liked a lot): it's set in January 1944, and the Germans have three PzIV J's, but in the GERMAN VEHICLE RARITY FACTOR CHART that AFV is not available until June 1944. So that seems odd. What makes it more odd is that the sN (Nahverteidigungswaffe...
  6. Houtje

    D3.7 Vehicular malfunction of MA

    Put differently: ASL's got 99 problems, but the B# ain't one.
  7. Houtje

    D3.7 Vehicular malfunction of MA

    Again, the 'such' is left out of the relevant quote. D3.7 does not say what you underlined, viz. "ordnance malfunctions on an Original To Hit DR of 12", it says "SUCH ordnance malfunctions on an Original To Hit DR of 12". The 'such' indicates a sub-section of ordnance, viz. that for which "a B#...
  8. Houtje

    D3.7 Vehicular malfunction of MA

    D3.7 does NOT simply state "12"; as I quoted above, it states "Such ordnance malfunctions on an Original To Hit DR of 12": the 'such' refers to vehicles with no Breakdown # printed on the counter (i.o.w. vehicles with an assumed B# of 12), not to all vehicles. According to how you interpret the...
  9. Houtje

    D3.7 Vehicular malfunction of MA

    I don't see the problem... D3.7 says: "Whenever a vehicle fires, that armament is subject to breakdown. A printed B# < 12 applies only to the MA unless Vehicle Notes specify otherwise." The point of this sentence is simply that for some vehicles (as will be noted in the Vehicle Notes) their MG...
  10. Houtje

    The wonderful "and/or" VC conditions.

    Do you mean "clearer and/or less debatable"? 🤪
  11. Houtje

    The wonderful "and/or" VC conditions.

    I'm not sure I agree: I think 'and/or' is supposed to mean that the VC are fulfilled when using either 'and' or 'or'. So, in this case: Option A (with 'and'): "The French win at Game End if there are <3 GO American Squad Equivalents (SE) in buildings J4 and E5." Not fulfilled, since J4 and E5 do...
  12. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    Thanks, Robin!
  13. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    "Would you also prohibit a non selected unit from maintaining the ROF of its MG (e.g. if snakes were rolled)?" No, I don't think so. The idea being: the whole attack was a bit of a hasty and uncoordinated affair, and one or more units (the ones selected by RS) are really done for the time being...
  14. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    The way I read it: when rolling doubles (and no exceptions apply) all units involved cower (the rules elsewhere also say, that the attack cowers; as said, I think that is not helpful). If it's just one unit, it is the one marked FFed of PFed. If there's more than one, RS determines which are...
  15. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    Sorry, the rule (last sentence) does say this: "If a FG cowers, ..." (so not the attack, the FG)
  16. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    It doesn't; it singles out units that get marked: "If a FG cowers, Random Selection is used to determine the unit(s) (and its SW) that becomes marked with a Prep or Final Fire counter." So the whole FG cowers (literally what the rule says), and some or all of the units that cower get marked.
  17. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    But rule A7.9 is, in its entirety, about Cowering. Therefore I think the FG does actually cower as a whole (even when not all participants are marked FFed or PFed); in fact A7.9 says so literally, in the last line: "If a FG cowers, Random Selection is used to determine the unit(s) (and its SW)...
  18. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    I agree it is clear about marking, but not so much about what 'Cowering' involves (and what not); i.e. we don't really know that "lowering the effect of the attack is not cowering in itself".
  19. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    True, but only if one knows what the intent is.
  20. Houtje

    Fire Group Cowering and Fire Lane

    "You don't seem to have noticed that A7.9 clearly says that the units that cower are marked by a Prep Fire/Final Fire." No, I didn't miss that. But it is not as clear-cut to me as it seems to be to you or others. E.g., if some units supposedly did not Cower (since not selected by RS), then why...
Top