New members introduce yourself here

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I've know of VASSAL for a long time but never bothered to check it out - call it laziness, some hint of old age (I started playing games long before PCs so I'm a touch nostalgic about pushing cardboard), and probably not that tech savvy. But maybe, just maybe, you've convinced me. It's certainly frequently discussed. Thanks for the information and the warm welcome!
I'm in my late 60's, if I can figure it out, anyone can (and it opens up a whole new gaming world)! :cool:

Conall

Reaction score
Country
ll
Coming back to Advanced Squad Leader

I don’t remember how old I was when I picked up a copy of Squad Leader, ten or eleven perhaps so sometime in the very early 1980s. Playing the Guards Counterattack and Hill 621 with my elder brother was an eye opener and immense fun. This began a two decades love affair first with Squad Leader and then with ASL. I think the last module I bought was either Kampfgruppe Peiper I or ASL Solitaire. Sadly working life, frequent travel and other hobbies meant my interest in ASL gradually declined. The reality was that it wasn’t (and still isn’t) a game well suited to solitaire play and once my elder brother left home I no longer had a regular playing partner. And ASL felt like it had become mind bogglingly complicated and not really worth the investment in time in comparison to other stalwarts like Breakout Normandy or the easy attraction of computer games like Close Combat and Combat Mission: Beyond Overlord. Finally – and most sadly – all my ASL collection disappeared when my parents moved house about seven years ago.