Thoughts on night fighting in TacOps

dhuffjr

Forum Conscript
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
There was a suggestion some time ago for illumination rounds. I'm not a programer but I think it would be hard.....who knows it may be a piece of cake.

Mortars, artillery, 40mm grenade launchers etc are the launchers.

Logic.

User selects aim point. Developer determines the deflection routine appropriate for each weapon which determines the actual "impact" location.
For an appropriate distance from that 'impact' point units may be visable. In my thinking it should not be 100% of daytime vision range say maybe 70%. I've not read much on the subject and have no real experience so I can't say what is 'should' be.

fbscheuer

Reaction score
Not sure what you need Major H, but isn't there Night Vision Goggles capabilities in TacOps5?
Yes, you would need to consider other forms of night vision equipment except thermals:

Unaided (only moonlight and starlight)

Passive and active IR and

Other forms of light enhancing optics (don't know the correct name in english)

And also artificial light sources, like illumination rounds and fires.

Plus firing at only gun flashes.

Seems to be a lot to think about...

GCoyote

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
You've got 90% of it

There was a suggestion some time ago for illumination rounds. I'm not a programer but I think it would be hard.....who knows it may be a piece of cake.

Mortars, artillery, 40mm grenade launchers etc are the launchers.

Logic.

User selects aim point. Developer determines the deflection routine appropriate for each weapon which determines the actual "impact" location.
For an appropriate distance from that 'impact' point units may be visable. In my thinking it should not be 100% of daytime vision range say maybe 70%. I've not read much on the subject and have no real experience so I can't say what is 'should' be.
Basically correct as we are reverse engineering the smoke routine.